Author Topic: Work life remains a hot mess  (Read 9112 times)

JennyRN70

• View Profile
Work life remains a hot mess
« on: April 21, 2015, 06:15:03 pm »
HI everyone - well for those of you you know me you know that I am a nurse and I have struggled with this career - but let's not fool anyone - since I started my first job as a teenager I have never really been able to keep myself employed for a long period of time - the longest period being in my 20's for almost 4 years - I am so sad and frustrated because I did find a great position that was low stress and monday to friday that paid fairly well and I got laid off 2 months in - not for anything I did but because of lack of work...anyway as I sit now I tried to go to work as a contract nurse in the ER on Saturday and had a full blown panic attack while I was there - so it looks like I can't even do it once in a while - my days as an ER nurse are over - which is fine - I just want something that is low stress and no shifts - office job with data entry or something like that - so that is where I am these days - oh and not likely eligible for ODSP as my spouse makes 6 figures but pays his ex wife almost 3/4 of it :(

Rich

• View Profile
Re: Work life remains a hot mess
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2015, 10:45:56 pm »
Hi Jenny!

I totally understand your work challenges.

Have you considered working as a nurse in a nursing home?  The residents aren't too demanding, and nothing there should be too stressful, since I'm sure most of the residents there are "do not resuscitate"!  The only challenge might be avoiding the midnight shift.

I hope this helps!

Rich

Pleeb

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2015, 01:27:35 am »
Hi, Jenny.....Good advice from Rich, and...... one full blown panic attack doesn't necessarily mean more of them?
I'll bet other people in the ER have had panic attacks.

take care....Peter

JennyRN70

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2015, 06:32:50 pm »