Author Topic: What is a DSM textbook and why are you not supposed to see it.  (Read 9901 times)

Stenacron man

• View Profile
What is a DSM textbook and why are you not supposed to see it or know about it ?

Because it can influence your mind and thoughts about yourself and who you really are.

First the book was created by the (APA) American Psychiatric Association and we are now up to version 5 published in 2013.  This is the book that psychologist and psychiatrist use to diagnose mental illnesses. It is a very large book of 1000 pages that spans all type of illnesses of the mind.

Being able to read, use, and not allow the text to influence your view of yourself is very hard to do. I am a scientific researcher so when I read the book I don't read it to diagnose myself or others, i use it to clarify myself and conditions that are visible to me and need a better understanding.

I was first diagnosed as a rapid cycling type II bipolar in 1997. I was not willing to accept this diagnosis till 2004. In 2004 I had a great psychiatrist that was encouraging and very explanatory. He encouraged me to go to the library and read about it so I did.  In most books they kept referring to a book called the DSM.  I then read this book from cover to cover. Yes a book that nobody truly reads completely. The question you should now ask is WHY did i read the entire book ?

OK the reason I read the whole book was:::

" in order to understand who I am, I must first understand who I am Not".

Mental illness has a horrible stigma attached to it like we are all psycho, insane, crazy, or a psychopathy and yet nothing can be further from the truth. Mentally ill people are all very nice people that just need help and are searching for clarification that they will likely never get. So if you need some clarification I would be happy to try to explain your condition to you in more detail than you were given. I do not diagnose people I clarify and make suggestions for you to consider.